Austin electrical contracting — the essentials
- State license
- TDLR Electrical Contractor (a business license)
- Who it needs
- An employed licensed Master Electrician
- License fee
- $110 to apply · $110 to renew · one-year term
- Insurance floor
- $300,000 per occurrence · $600,000 aggregate · $300,000 products and completed operations
- City permitting
- MEP trade contractor registration · AB+C ID + Letter of Authorization
- City purchasing
- Vendor account with commodity codes · offers via eResponse
- State list
- CMBL, $70 a year · ESBD lists state contracts over $25,000
- Vendor help line
- 512-974-2018 · [email protected]
Electrical work sits behind three separate gates in Austin, and they are run by three different offices. The state decides who may hold the license. The City's permitting side decides who may be named on an electrical permit. The City's purchasing side decides whether a solicitation ever reaches you. Everything below is read off the agencies' own pages this week, and where an agency does not publish something, I say so rather than filling the gap.
Two Austin registrations, and they do different jobs
Both are called registration, both are with the City of Austin, and they are separate systems that do not substitute for each other.
The permitting one. The City's description is precise: “Mechanical, Electrical, and Plumbing (MEP) Trade Contractors are the responsible individuals assigned to the associated Mechanical, Electrical, or Plumbing Permit.” That is what the registration is for — being the named responsible party on a permit. The minimum requirements are short: “A completed Letter of Authorization (PDF) form” and an “Austin Build + Connect (AB+C) ID.” You obtain the AB+C portal account first, then submit the documentation through the City's web form; the City also notes that “In-person registration is available for building and trade contractors.”
One detail on that registration is worth putting in your calendar rather than your memory: “Professional Trade Contractors only need to register once with the City of Austin and are required to update their registration annually.” Once, then annually — and since your TDLR license also renews annually, those two dates are worth keeping together.
The purchasing one. That is a different system entirely, and it is the one that decides whether City work reaches you. It gets its own section below. The City does not publish a fee for trade contractor registration on that page, in either direction, so I am not going to tell you it is free or that it costs something.
The license the state actually checks
Texas licenses electricians through the Department of Licensing and Regulation, and the rule covers both the person and the firm: “Anyone who performs, or offers to perform, non-exempt electrical work in the state of Texas must be licensed and perform that work through a licensed contractor.” Two layers, and a government buyer will check both.
TDLR issues eleven individual license types — Apprentice Electrician, Apprentice Electrical Sign, Journeyman Electrician, Journeyman Industrial Electrician, Journeyman Lineman, Journeyman Sign Electrician, Maintenance Electrician, Master Electrician, Master Sign Electrician, Residential Appliance Installer and Residential Wireman — and three business license types: Electrical Contractor, Electrical Sign Contractor and Residential Appliance Installation Contractor. The one your company bids under is the Electrical Contractor license.
What it takes to hold one:
- A master on the payroll. “You must employ a licensed Master Electrician to apply for an Electrical Contractor license.” If your master leaves, that is not an HR problem, it is a licensing problem.
- Insurance at a published floor. “Minimum $300,000 per occurrence (combined for property damage and bodily injury); Minimum $600,000 aggregate; and Minimum $300,000 aggregate for products and completed operation.” At renewal, TDLR adds a detail that trips people up: “The name/assumed business name on the certificate of liability insurance must match the business name on your application.”
- A workers' compensation answer, whichever it is. You must supply “Proof of having obtained workers' compensation insurance, or a certificate of authority to self-insure, or a statement that you have elected not to obtain workers' compensation insurance.” Note that electing not to carry it is an allowed answer to TDLR — it is not necessarily an allowed answer to a solicitation, which is a separate document with its own requirements.
- $110, every year. A “$110 application fee” to start, then the “non-refundable $110 renewal fee”, because “Electrician licenses are valid for one year from the date of issuance and must be renewed annually.”
Continuing education lands on your people, not on the company. TDLR requires “4 hours of continuing education prior to each license renewal” from the individual license holders — masters, journeymen of every stripe, residential wiremen, maintenance electricians, apprentices — while contractors and residential appliance installers are exempt. And the timing is strict: “Continuing education courses must be completed within the term of the license being renewed.” A course taken in the wrong twelve months does not count, which is a cheap mistake to avoid and an expensive one to discover in renewal week.
Where Austin's electrical work is actually posted
The City's own work goes on its active solicitations list in Austin Finance Online, and the submission rule there is absolute: “All offers for City of Austin solicitations must be submitted electronically via eResponse.” There is no paper route to fall back on.
Reading that list on 25 August 2026, two solicitations in scope for an electrical firm were open, and they are worth quoting exactly rather than summarizing:
- IFB 6100 CLMC1172 — Distribution Getaway Duct Bank Bore at East Village subst, due 09/17/2026 at 2PM.
- RFP 1100 LLM3009 — Relay Services, due 09/17/2026 at 2PM, described by the City as “Staff augmentation to support Austin Energy with routine and emergency relay services for substation, power plants, transmission and distribution systems.”
That second description is the one I would take away from this page. The work the City puts its own words to here is relay services for substations, power plants and the transmission and distribution system, bought as staff augmentation for Austin Energy — not a building trade job. If you hold protection-and-controls or utility-side capability, that description is worth reading in full before you decide this buyer is not for you. Note also that the two lines use different methods, an IFB and an RFP; the City of Austin bids guide covers how the City runs each.
On bonding: the requirement lives in the solicitation, not in a general rule you can look up once. What the City does publish is the paperwork it uses. Its capital procurement resources list the standard Division 0 documents, including 00610 Performance Bond and 00620 Payment Bond, alongside 00400 Statement of Bidder's Experience and 00405 Certification of Non-Suspension or Debarment. That page lists document titles and links; it does not state dollar thresholds or bonding percentages, so there is no threshold quoted on this page. Read the bond article of the specific solicitation, and note that a Statement of Bidder's Experience sits in the same set of standard documents — your track record is paperwork the City has a form for. TDLR's own published requirement of an Electrical Contractor is liability insurance, which is a different instrument from a bond.
Three portals, three inboxes, one trade
I'm building BidScout to read the Austin-area bid boards and email you only the work that matches what you sell. The engine already reads the state ESBD, the City of Austin portal and Austin ISD, all running in shadow-mode testing — email alerts aren't live for any source yet. Join the waitlist and you'll see the roadmap from day one.
Free during beta · No credit card required
Getting on the City's vendor list, and why commodity codes are the filter
Vendor registration is the purchasing-side registration, and the City states plainly what it is for: “City of Austin vendors may participate in the City's procurement process by receiving solicitation notifications for contract opportunities and submitting responses through our website.” Notifications in, responses out. One constraint to know before you start: “Each federal taxpayer ID number can only have one associated vendor account.” If someone at your company registered years ago, you are looking for that account, not creating a second one.
Now the part that decides everything afterwards. The City explains its own routing: “When the City issues a new solicitation, our Procurement Specialists identify all related commodity codes, and send the solicitation to all vendors who have those codes associated with their vendor profile.” A human picks the codes for the solicitation, and the system matches them against your profile. Your codes are therefore not an administrative field — they are the filter that decides which of the City's work you are ever told about.
The City's own advice follows from that: “Vendors must provide at least one commodity code on their profile, but we recommend adding multiple to cast a wide net.” Take that seriously. One code describing your headline service is a narrow net, and the City is the one telling you a wider one is better. I am not going to quote you a class/item number here, because I could not retrieve one from an official source this run and I will not invent it — pick your codes inside the vendor profile itself, or ring the line below and have someone walk you through it.
Two things the City offers that are worth using. The vendor help line is 512-974-2018 and [email protected]. And the City runs a Vendor Academy, with sessions held monthly and presentations downloadable afterwards, covering procurement topics, bidding processes and business requirements including construction contracting. If you have never bid public work, start there.
The state list: the CMBL and the ESBD
The state runs two different things, and mixing them up costs people work. The ESBD is the public board: it “is an online search engine that lists state contracts over $25,000.” The CMBL is the notification list — “a master database used by the state of Texas purchasing entities to develop a mailing list for vendors to receive bids based on the products or services they can provide to the state of Texas” — and it routes on the same principle the City uses: bid opportunities go out “based on class and items selected.”
The CMBL carries a published fee: “The CMBL annual registration fee is $70 and may be paid online by credit, debit card, electronic check (U.S. addresses only) or by paper check.” The Comptroller's own emphasis is on keeping “an active, accurate and current email address...to ensure bid opportunities are received timely” — worth acting on, because the notifications are the whole point of paying the fee. The Texas ESBD guide walks through searching the board itself.
Austin ISD: unregistered means invisible
Austin ISD gates its solicitations behind one platform, and it is blunter than most agencies about what that means. The district uses “Bonfire, an online E-bidding and procurement software platform”, and the consequence of skipping registration is stated in the district's own words: “vendors not registered in Bonfire will not be notified of any AISD issued solicitations and will not be able to view solicitations located on our website until registration is complete.”
Read that twice. It is not only that you will not be emailed — you cannot see the solicitations at all. There is no browsing the district's work from the outside and deciding later. And as with the City, the routing runs on your own selections: “the district will send email notifications through Bonfire when an AISD solicitation is issued relating to the product or service commodities you selected during the registration process.” The Austin ISD bids guide covers the district's process in full.
What I would do first
- Confirm your TDLR position before anything else. Electrical Contractor license current, master electrician employed, certificate of insurance in the exact business name on the license. A buyer checks this first, so check it first.
- Put both annual dates in one calendar. The TDLR license renews annually at $110, and the City's trade contractor registration must be updated annually. Missing either one takes you off the board without warning.
- Register as a City vendor, then spend real time on commodity codes. A procurement specialist picks the codes for each solicitation and the system matches them to your profile. Add more than one code, as the City itself recommends, rather than the single one that names your headline service.
- Do the MEP trade contractor registration separately. Get the AB+C ID, file the Letter of Authorization. It is the permitting side and no amount of vendor registration substitutes for it.
- Register in Bonfire for Austin ISD today. Until you do, you cannot even see what the district is buying.
- Pay the $70 CMBL fee and keep the email address alive. That is the state pipeline for anything over the ESBD threshold.
- Book a Vendor Academy session. They run monthly, and they cover the construction contracting side that most electrical firms meet as a subcontractor first.
Electrical is one trade among many in a region with a lot of buyers. The wider map — City, county, school districts and the state — is in the Austin government contracts overview, and if you also run mechanical work, the Austin HVAC contracts guide covers the other half of MEP and the separate TDLR license that governs it.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a license to do electrical work for a Texas government agency?
Yes, and in two layers. TDLR states that anyone who performs, or offers to perform, non-exempt electrical work in the state of Texas must be licensed and perform that work through a licensed contractor. So the individual doing the work holds a license, and the business holds a separate one. TDLR issues eleven individual license types, including Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician and Residential Wireman, and three business license types, including Electrical Contractor.
What does a Texas Electrical Contractor license cost and what does it require?
The application fee is $110, and licenses are valid for one year from the date of issuance and must be renewed annually. Renewal is a non-refundable $110. You must employ a licensed Master Electrician to apply for an Electrical Contractor license. You must also carry minimum business liability insurance of $300,000 per occurrence, $600,000 aggregate, and $300,000 aggregate for products and completed operations, and provide either proof of workers' compensation insurance, a certificate of authority to self-insure, or a statement that you have elected not to obtain it.
Is City of Austin electrical contractor registration the same as registering as a vendor?
No. They are two different registrations with two different purposes. Trade contractor registration is a permitting matter: the City describes Mechanical, Electrical, and Plumbing (MEP) Trade Contractors as the responsible individuals assigned to the associated Mechanical, Electrical, or Plumbing Permit, and it needs a completed Letter of Authorization form and an Austin Build + Connect (AB+C) ID. Vendor registration is a purchasing matter — it is how you receive solicitation notifications and submit responses. Doing one does not do the other.
Where do City of Austin electrical bids get posted?
On the City's active solicitations list in Austin Finance Online, and all offers for City of Austin solicitations must be submitted electronically via eResponse. Two electrical-scope solicitations were live on that list on 25 August 2026: IFB 6100 CLMC1172, Distribution Getaway Duct Bank Bore at East Village subst, and RFP 1100 LLM3009, Relay Services, described as staff augmentation to support Austin Energy with routine and emergency relay services for substation, power plants, transmission and distribution systems. Both were due 09/17/2026 at 2PM.
Do electrical contractors need bonding for government work in Texas?
Read the solicitation, because that is where the answer lives for any particular job. What the City publishes is the paperwork: its capital procurement resources list standard Division 0 documents including 00610 Performance Bond and 00620 Payment Bond, alongside 00400 Statement of Bidder's Experience and 00405 Certification of Non-Suspension or Debarment. That page lists the document titles and does not state dollar thresholds or bonding percentages, so no threshold is quoted here. Separately, TDLR's own published requirement of an Electrical Contractor is liability insurance, which is a different instrument from a bond.
What is the CMBL in Texas?
It is the state's notification list. The Comptroller describes the CMBL as a master database used by the state of Texas purchasing entities to develop a mailing list for vendors to receive bids based on the products or services they can provide to the state of Texas, and it is used to send bid opportunities based on class and items selected. The annual registration fee is $70. It is a separate thing from the ESBD, which is an online search engine that lists state contracts over $25,000.